CDI's Menu Sign...
Back to CDI's Home Page...
Register for CDI Courses...
Listing of Education Classes
Go to CDI's Home Study Page...
Listing of Behind-The-Wheel Training...
Special Classes for Fleets & Seniors are Available Here...
Instructor Training is Available Here...
Free Drivers Ed is Available Here...
Go Here to Find Your Lesson or Class...
Go to CDI's State Testing Page...
Go to CDI's Driving Tips Page...
Go to CDI's New Laws Page...
Fequently Asked Questions & Answers...
Links to Related Sites...
CDI's Menu Sign...

Go to CDI's Home Page...


~ CDI's Frequently Asked Questions ~
(We are always seeking to improve this list, add your suggestion!)

Early Drive Privilege for Teens
What are the requirements to get a Colorado Driverís License if under the age of 18?
What are the requirements to get a Colorado Driverís License if 18 years of age or older?
When can my student get their Colorado Driving Learnerís Permit and what courses do they need?
Does my student have to take a written test to get their Colorado Driverís License?
Who is my student allowed to drive with now that they have their permit?
How long must I have my Instruction Permit before I can take my driving test?
Are there any laws for minors (under 18 years of age) that have just received their Colorado Driverís License?

CDI Registration Questions
What does CDI's Reactivation Fee and Upgrade Fee cover?
I have received two contracts, what are these for?
What forms of payment are acceptable?
When does my student get the Certificate of Completion for this course?
If I lost my driving test completion statement can Colorado Driving Institute issue me another one?
Will the Certificate of Completion help us get a discount on our automobile insurance?
If I lose my certificate of completion, can I get a duplicate?
How far in advance do I need to cancel my Drive test without penalty?

Driver Education Questions
Where do I get the Colorado Driving Handbook to study for the permit test?
What does my child need to bring to their classroom sessions?
I just received my Driver Awareness Program (DAP) certificate of completion. How long do I have before this form expires?
If I lost my Driver Awareness Program (DAP) certificate of completion, can Colorado Driving Institute issue me another one?
The Home Study course is advertised as self-paced, but does my teen have to complete the course in a specified time frame?
What if I canít find or donít return some of the contents of the Materials Box for my Home Study?

Behind-the-Wheel Lessons Questions
Does the Behind-the-Wheel Training provided by CDI count as part of my Teen's Drive Log Experience?
How far in advance do I need to schedule my behind the wheel lesson?
When should we schedule our behind the wheel lessons?
How far in advance do I need to cancel my B.O.S.T. test or License test without penalty?
What does my child need to bring with them to their Behind the Wheel lesson?
We only have clutch cars in our household. Can my child take their Behind the Wheel lessons in a clutch car with CDI?

Drive Test Questions
Can my student where sandals or flip flops on their BTW (Behind the wheel) Lessons?
Does CDI offer the Behind-the-Wheel BOST Test?
Why does CDI offer the Behind-the-Wheel BOST Test?
Why do parents/students prefer taking the Behind-the-Wheel BOST Test with CDI?
Is there an advantage to taking the Behind-the-Wheel test with CDI?
Why does CDI charge so much for the Behind-the-Wheel Test?
When can CDI administer the Behind-the-Wheel Test?
Will CDI administer the test during a lesson?

B.O.S.T. Testing & Going to DMV
What is a B.O.S.T. test?
Will CDI inform us about any changes in the law that the State of Colorado puts into affect?
What does my student need to take with them to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to get their Colorado Driverís License?
I just received my driving test completion statement. How long do I have before this form expires?
My student has received an Affidavit of Completion (front) as well as an Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship (back) form. What are they for?
How can I find my local DMV?
How can I get a Spanish version of the Colorado Driving Handbook?

Question:

What are the requirements to get a Colorado Driverís License if under the age of 18?

Answer:

In order to get your Colorado Drivers License, you must be at least 16 years of age, must have held your permit for at least one full year, and must have 50 hours of driving time documented by the person who signed the affidavit of liability and guardianship. Please keep in mind that 10 of those 50 hours must include nighttime driving.

Question:

What are the requirements to get a Colorado Driverís License if 18 years of age or older?

Answer:

You must take the written B.O.S.T test to get your Colorado Learners Permit. After which you must pass a Behind the Wheel test to get your License.

Question:

When can my student get their Colorado Driving Learnerís Permit and what courses do they need?

Answer:

If you are less than 15 years and 6 months the State of Colorado requires you to:
Be at least 14years and 6 months of age or older on the day he or she begins a Driver Education Course;

Must attend and complete a State approved 30-hour Driver Education Course or complete an approved Home Study Education Correspondence Course.
NOTE: State Law no longer requires concurrent enrollment in a minimum of 6-hours of Behind-the-Wheel (BTW) training lessons with a State-Certified Drivers Education Instructor. However, if your student acquires a permit after April 23, 2007, they will be required to complete 6 hours of BTW training with a State certified, professional organization if they are living within a 50 mile radius of a driving school, in addition to completing 50 hours of behind the wheel practice with their parent/guardian. To find out if you are in the radius, please contact your local DMV.

If you are 15 years and 6 months but less than 16 years of age the State of Colorado requires that you:
Attend and complete an approved Pre-Qualifying 4-hour Driver Awareness Program;
OR complete a State approved 30-hour Driver Education Course or complete an approved Home Study Education Correspondence Course

Question:

Does my student have to take a written test to get their Colorado Driverís License?

Answer:

The only written test that your student takes is the Colorado Driving Learners Permit test. The test to get your Colorado Drivers License is the Basic Operators Skills Test (BOST) behind the wheel test or better known as the behind the wheel License test.

Question:

Who is my student allowed to drive with now that they have their permit? (new)

Answer:

Legally, there must be at least one person who signed the Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship or Affidavit of Completion in the car while the student is driving. Now as far as passengers are concerned, that is up to the people who signed the Affidavit of Completion to decide.

Question:

How long must I have my Instruction Permit before I can take my driving test?

Answer:

If you are 18 years of age or older, you can take the driving test on the same day you get your permit. If you are under the age of 18, you must have held your permit for one full year, and have your 50 hours of logged drive time in order to take your driving test for your license.

Question:

Are there any laws for minors (under 18 years of age) that have just received their Colorado Driverís License?

Answer:

Yes there are:
You cannot have any passengers under the age of 21 in the car until you have had a drivers license for at least 6 months unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. (Excluding siblings or emergency situations)
You cannot have more than one passenger under the age of 21 until you have had a driversí license for at least one year unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. (Excluding siblings or emergency situations)
All passengers you drive with must wear safety belts and only one may ride in the front seat.
You cannot drive between midnight and 5:00am until you have had your driversí license for at least one year unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

Exceptions to driving between midnight and 5:00am:
Driving to school or school-authorized activity and the school does not provide transportation. For this a signed statement from the school is required.
Driving to or from work. For this a signed statement from the employer is required.
Any Medical Emergency.
The driver is an emancipated minor.

Please see the Colorado Driving Handbook with regard to all details on laws and driving restrictions.

Question:

What does CDI's Reactivation Fee and Upgrade Fee cover?

Answer:

 The reactivation fee, paid if the students services have expired, covers the overhead associated with renewing the account; the account must be reactivated, information updated, new contracts must be processed, etc.

The upgrade fee, paid if the studentís services have expired, is the difference in cost between the price of the service when they initially purchased the service and the cost to deliver that service now. For example, if a student bought a lesson one year ago, at the cost of $95, and the cost of a lesson today is $120, the student upgrade fee is $25.

Question:

I have received two contracts, what are these for?

Answer:

If you are signed up for 30-hours of classroom and/or behind the wheel lessons with the Colorado Driving Institute, you are required to deliver one copy to your Instructor on the first day of class or on your first BTW lesson. Please keep the second copy to refer to as it has important information about CDIís procedures and policies.

Question:

What forms of payment are acceptable?

Answer:

We take cash, credit card, money orders or checks. If you have your credit card available we can process a payment for you via phone Monday through Friday during our normal business hours. Or, you can always register and pay through our website, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Please keep in mind that we do have a pre-payment policy on all services rendered.

Question:

When does my student get the Certificate of Completion for this course?

Answer:

A Certificate of Completion will be issued once the student has FULLY completed all six hours. Certificates will be handed out by the behind the wheel instructor on the last lesson. If you did not receive one please call our office at 303-818-7623 and we will have an instructor mail you your certificate or you may pick it up from our office.

Question:

If I lost my Driving test completion statement can Colorado Driving Institute issue me another one?

Answer:

No. Unfortunately all of the completion statements have a registered control number that we report back to the State. You would have to take the driving test again with CDI for an additional $40 or with the Department of Motor Vehicles if you lost your form.

Question:

Will the Certificate of Completion help us get a discount on our automobile insurance?

Answer:

A lot of parents ask this question, but unfortunately this all depends on your insurance companies various policies and requirements. We recommend that you contact your local insurance agent to see what their requirements are for a driverís education discount.

Question:

If I lose my certificate of completion, can I get a duplicate?

Answer:

Yes. However Colorado Driving Institute only provides the first certificate for free. After that, there is a duplicate certificate fee of $5.00 per certificate issued.

Question:

How far in advance do I need to cancel my Drive test without penalty?

Answer:

You must reschedule with more than 24 hours advanced notice to avoid any fees.

The fee is $20 if: you cancel or reschedule your test with less than 24 hours notice, forget to bring your permit to your test, (if under 18) forget to bring your drive log to the test, show up more than15 minutes late, donít show for your test, or wear inappropriate footwear to the test i.e., athletic shoes, etc

Question:

Where do I get the Colorado Driving Handbook to study for the permit test?

Answer:

You can obtain the Colorado Driving Handbook at your local DMV or on their website at http://www.revenue.state.co.us/mv_dir/home.asp.

Question:

What does my child need to bring to their classroom sessions?

Answer:

They need to bring a pen or pencil, a notebook or paper and a copy of their birth certificate. The birth certificate does not need to be a legal copy. A photocopy will be collected for our records and is needed for proof of age in order to prove the student is eligble to take the class. The lunch break is 30 minutes. We suggest that students bring a lunch. However, lunch can be purchased locally.

Question:

I just received my Driver Awareness Program (DAP) certificate of completion. How long do I have before this form expires?

Answer:

The Driver Awareness Program certificate of completion expires 60 days from the date of issue.

Question:

If I lost my Driver Awareness Program (DAP) certificate of completion, can Colorado Driving Institute issue me another one?

Answer:

No. Unfortunately all of the certificates have a registered control number that we report back to the State. The State now requires that the student must attend another DAP session to get another Certificate of Completion.

Question:

The Home Study course is advertised as self-paced, but does my teen have to complete the course in a specified time frame?

Answer:

The Home Study course is self-paced but does need to be returned to the Colorado Driving Institute within Nine (9) months of registration. With recent changes in state law, you must complete the written portion of the Home Study Course before you can apply for Minor Permit; CDI is required by State law to certify the successful completion of the course.

Question:

What if I canít find or donít return some of the contents of the Materials Box for my Home Study?

Answer:

Each piece of material that we send out in your Materials Box has an individual price. If you cant find or donít return some of those materials, the price will be invoiced to you with our current prices.

Question:

Does the behind-the-wheel training provided by CDI count as part of my teen's drive-log experience?

Answer:

YES! The state has recently modified their standards, AGAIN! The hours provided by an approved instructor and the parents/legal guardians who have signed the "Affidavit of Liability" will be counted as part of the teen's 50hrs of experience.

Question:

How far in advance do I need to schedule my behind the wheel lesson?

Answer:

Typically our drivers are booked out 4 to 6 weeks in advance, and can be as much as 6 to 8 weeks during summer months so regardless of when you would like to take a lesson, please keep this fact in mind. CDI currently serves some 2000 families!

Question:

When should we schedule our behind the wheel lessons?

Answer:

We can start scheduling behind the wheel lessons as soon as the student has their permit. Please keep in mind that we ask for at least 5-10 hours of practice in between each lesson. We can however, assist in the basic lesson and have no experience then. Normally, we book the first lesson (basic lesson) and the second lesson (city lesson) within 3-4 weeks of each other, with at least 10 hours total time before the City lesson.We ask that the student have around 30-40 hours of experience before taking the highway lesson for the studentsí safety as well as our instructorsí safety due to high speeds and traffic. Remember our lessons are booked out 4-6 weeks during the winter months and 6-8 weeks during the summer months so please plan ahead; call ahead. And donít forget, we have a full year for most of our students.

Question:

How far in advance do I need to cancel my behind the wheel lesson without penalty?

Answer:

You must reschedule with more than 24 hours advanced notice to avoid any fees. The fee is $50 if: you cancel or reschedule your lesson with less than 24 hours notice, forget to bring your permit or your license to your lesson, show up more than15 minutes late to your lesson, donít show, or wear inappropriate footwear i.e., flip-flops, you will be assessed a $50 no-show fee that must be paid before another lesson can be scheduled or receive a certificate of completion. Please wear closed toed shoes (athletic shoes, for example) to all lessons.

Question:

What does my child need to bring with them to their Behind the Wheel lesson?

Answer:

They MUST bring their permit or driver's license, and wear closed toed shoes, or we cannot proceed with the lesson and will have to reschedule for another time and a $50 no-show fee will be applied to the students account.

Question:

We only have clutch cars in our household. Can my child take their Behind the Wheel lessons in a clutch car with CDI?

Answer:

We do offer clutch lessons for $140.00. However, they are in addition to the standard three Behind the Wheel lessons. We teach the Basic, City and Highway lessons in an automatic so that the student can better focus on driving laws and getting comfortable with making good driving habits. When the students have achieved a certain level of understanding, CDI instructors will then introduce new challenge of working a clutch car.

Question:

Can my student wear sandals on their BTW (Behind the wheel) Lessons?

Answer:

NO. Due to the risk of them coming off during the lesson or getting caught in or on a foot pedal, we will cancel any Behind the Wheel lesson where the student does not have a change of shoes and charge a $50 fee. Close toed shoes only please. Also Appropriate clothing is also a must. Low cut shirts, short shorts, short skirts are not allowed. We want our students, as well as our instructors, to feel comfortable during Lessons and tests.

Question:

Does CDI offer the Behind-the-Wheel BOST Test?

Answer:

CDI provides this optional service to our students for a discounted fee of $40--it is optional because parents and students, with enough forethought and preparation, can schedule this free test through the DMV.
Parents/Students that take the test through the DMV should consult the DMV website for vehicle, registration, and insurance requirements. If their vehicle does not meet the DMV requirements, the student will not be allowed to take their test and must reschedule with the DMV.

Question:

Why does CDI offer the Behind-the-Wheel BOST Test?

Answer:

The Behind-the-Wheel BOST test is not the primary focus of the Institute (classroom instruction and lessons are). We offer the test for the following reasons:
Parents/Students do not have a vehicle that:
They can use for the test
Is insured
Can pass DMV inspection
Parents/students didnít plan for the test in advance and need to take it at the last minute

Question:

Why do parents/students prefer taking the Behind-the-Wheel BOST Test with CDI?

Answer:

It's convenient

Parents/Students are more comfortable taking the test with a CDI instructor; some have taken lessons from the instructor that will be providing the test
Another child/earlier student took their Test with CDI

Question:

Is there an advantage to taking the Behind-the-Wheel test with CDI?

Answer:

No. We deliver the same test and use the same testing materials that the DMV uses on a daily basis. We cannot and will not do anything to give students an unfair advantage.
  A benefit of taking the test with CDI, is that we may provide suggestions to improve a students safety in driving , and if they fail the test, we can tell them what areas need improvement, where the DMV is normally a thumbs up or down.

Question:

Why does CDI charge so much for the Behind-the-Wheel Test?

Answer:

CDI provides this service as a courtesy for our customers; our main business focus is on drivers education and instruction provided in behind the wheel lessons.

When customers request a BOST test, CDI has to set aside time from the main functions of the business- delivering services, administration work, etc. to accommodate that request. CDI charges a fee for the test because these normal business functions are postponed and the company incurs a tangible opportunity cost.

The test fee has remained the same for over seven years.

Question:

When can CDI administer the Behind-the-Wheel Test?

Answer:

CDI will administer the test under the following 3 conditions (all of these conditions must be met):
 Student is at least 16 years old
 Student has held their permit for one full year from date of issue
 Student has completed 50 hours of drive-time, including 10 hours of night-driving

Question:

Will CDI administer the test during a lesson?

Answer:

CDI does not normally schedule tests during lessons. A test scheduled during a lesson takes away from the material offered during the lesson. Our lessons are offered in two hour increments only. A test may be scheduled directly after the lesson however if the schedule allows. Please call the office at 303-818-7623 to check on schedule availability.

Question:

What is a B.O.S.T. test?

Answer:

B.O.S.T. stands for Basic Operating Skills Test. Actually; there are two kinds of B.O.S.T. tests that you can take:

The first is a written B.O.S.T. test. Once you pass it, it allows you to get a Colorado Learners Permit. You can take this test through the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)

The second is a behind-the-wheel B.O.S.T. test. Once you pass it, this test allows you to get a Colorado Drivers license. You can take this through the Colorado DMV by appointment or through a third party tester. To take the test through the DMV, you must provide your own vehicle with proof of registration and insurance. Or, you can take the test with CDI (a State certified third party tester) in one of our company cars. The cost of this test is $45 for non-students or $40 if your are a student that has taken classes through Colorado Driving Institute. You may schedule an appointment or call for a walk-in test. A pre-scheduled appointment for testing is the best way to go, as many of CDIís Testing Providers are likely to already be booked in advance.

Question:

Will CDI inform us about any changes in the law that the State of Colorado puts into affect?

Answer:

Colorado driving laws change frequently what was once true for parents/guardians may not apply today. CDI will do their best to try and inform customers but it is still your responsibility to really make sure you know what new laws have come into affect. We recommend looking to the DMVís website for any questions regarding Colorado driving laws http://www.revenue.state.co.us/mv_dir/home.asp

Question:

What does my student need to take with them to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to get their Colorado Driverís License?

Answer:

Due to the constantly changing DMV requirements CDI suggests that you visit the DMV web site in order to acquire the most current information.
http://www.revenue.state.co.us/mv_dir/home.asp.

Question:

I just received my driving test completion statement. How long do I have before this form expires?

Answer:

The Behind-The-Wheel License Test (the completion statement for the behind-the-wheel License Test expires 60 days from the date of issue).

Question:

My student has received an Affidavit of Completion (front) as well as an Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship (back) form. What are they for?

Answer:

The Affidavit of Completion should already be filled out (except for parents/step-parents/guardians signatures) showing that your students name, date of birth, and the Completion date of the classroom or home study course with Colorado Driving Institute. In addition, this form will show that the student is or is not signed up for BTW lessons with CDI. On the Affidavit of Enrollment there will be a signature from one of the State certified instructors at CDI.

The Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship requires that you to fill out your students name, date of birth, but it must only be signed in the presence of a Department of Motor Vehicle Employee or Notary Public. If it is signed outside of the presence of one of these required officials the form becomes null and void. This form must to be handed in to the Department of Motor Vehicles when you and your student go in to obtain their Colorado Driving Learners Permit.

Question:

How can I find my local DMV?

Answer:

DMV locations are found in the blue government pages of the phone book OR in the back of your Colorado Driver Handbook. A list of locations can also be found on the Colorado DMVís website at:
http://www.colorado.gov/revenue

Question:

How can I get a Spanish version of the Colorado Driving Handbook?

Answer:

You can obtain a Spanish version of the Colorado Driving Handbook at the DMV or on their website at http://www.revenue.state.co.us/mv_dir/home.asp.

 

State-Wide Services
Toll Free: 800.861.3191
FAX: 303.395-0392

Valid XHTML 1.0!

CDI'S PRIVACY NOTICE...
Email ~ Questions?