~ LAWS FOR NEW DRIVERS ~
The State Of Colorado Requires You To Do
are 14.5 years old but less than 15 years and 6 months, the State of Colorado
requires you to:
are 15 years and 6 months but less than 16 years of age, the State of
Colorado requires you to:
Senate Bill 07-77: Motor Vehicals & Traffic Reg's - 6 hours BTW Requirement
for teenagers, under the age 18, with their Colorado Instruction Permit:
The Colorado Driving Institute’s primary concern is for the safety of our students. We strongly recommend to all of the new drivers attending our classrooms, regardless of their age, to enroll in the 30-hour Driver Education Class as well as Behind-The-Wheel training lessons. This is an extensive training program that best prepares the students for the day-to-day responsibility of being behind the wheel of a car.
State Of Colorado Requires You To Do To Get Your Colorado Driver’s License:
If you are under
18 years of age, the State of Colorado requires you to:
If you are 18
years of age or older, the State of Colorado requires you to:
Colorado Identification Requirements - For getting a permit from DMV
for teenagers, under the age of 18, with their Colorado Driver’s License:
April 23, 2007 - 6 hours of Behind-the-Wheel Lessons before Drive Test:
Before you can be issued your driver’s license, you are required, by law, to complete behind-the-wheel (BTW) training if you were issued your driver’s education permit on or after April 23, 2007 and you were under the age of 15/6 months at the time you were issued your permit. The BTW training can be administered two ways: you can take 6 hours with a driving instructor from a department-approved school or, if there isn’t a driving school that offers BTW training at least 20 hours per week with an address that is within 30 miles of the permit holder’s residence, you may complete 12 hours with a parent, guardian or alternate permit supervisor.
time you apply for your driver’s license, you are also required,
by law, to submit a log of your driving experience. The log sheet must
show a minimum total of 50 hours, with 10 hours of those 50 hours having
been driven at night. The Drive Time Log Sheet is used any time you drive.
The appropriate box is fi lled in by the parent/guardian driving with
you or by the driver authorized by your parent/guardian
NOW THAT YOU HAVE YOUR DRIVER'S LICENSE: Congratulations on passing your drive test. Although you now have your drivers license, and are under the age of 18, regardless of when you where issued your permit, there are still a few things you need to be aware of. The new law does not allow you to drive between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless you have your parent or guardian (the same person that signed the DR2460, Affidavit of Liability Guardianship) in the car with you. The only exceptions to this are if your are driving to and from your job, if it is an emergency or if the city and/or county where you live has already has it's own curfew. If you are driving to and from work, you will need to carry a statement signed by your employer or your parent or guardian stating the time you arrive at and leave your job. While you are under the age of 18, when your carry passengers, everyone riding with you must wear their seat belt. Only one passenger can ride in the front seat with you and you can only carry as many passengers in the back seat as the vehicle you are driving has seat belts for. The new law also states that you are not allowed to have any passengers under the age of 21 in the car with you for the first 6 months that you have your license and only 1 passenger under 21 for the second 6 months that you have your license. The only exception to this rule is if your siblings are in the car or if your parents are in the front seat. Once you reach 18 years of age, these restrictions will no longer apply to you. Your license will expire 20 days after your 21st birthday. Have a safe journey and the DMV will see you when you turn 21.
The Job Permit Card provided below can be printed, laminated and carried in your wallet. Place your mouse pointer on the image and click the Printer Icon visible in the upper left corner of the image.
Privacy Notice: Colorado Driving Institute does not share your personal information with any third parties, ever!
Disclaimer: Driving is the most dangerous activity anyone participates in on a regular basis. Although driver's education insurance rates are among the lowest, and accidents are far below average, Colorado Driving Institute cannot guarantee anyone's safety while driving an automobile.~ Questions?
Printable Version of this Page