New Laws

What The State Of Colorado Requires You To Do To Get Your Colorado Instruction Permit:

If you are 14.5 years old but less than 15 years and 6 months, the State of Colorado requires you to:

  • Attend and complete a State approved 30-hour Driver Education course.
  • Pass a written test once you are 15.

If you are 15 years and 6 months but less than 16 years of age, the State of Colorado requires you to:

  • Attend and complete an approved Pre-qualification 4-hour Driver Awareness Program.
  • OR Attend and complete a State approved 30-hour Driver Education course
  • Pass a written test.

If you are 16 years of age the State of Colorado requires you to:

  • Pass a written test.

What The State Of Colorado Requires You To Do To Get Your Colorado License:

If you are under 18 years of age, the State of Colorado requires you to:

  • Be at least 16 years of age or older to get your Colorado Driver’s License.
  • Hold your Colorado Instruction Permit for one full year (from the original date the Colorado Instruction Permit was issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles).
  • Complete 6 hours of behind the wheel education with a State-certified instructor (if under 16.5).
  • Have a completed and signed (by the parent or legal guardian that signed the Affidavit of Liability for the Instruction Permit) the Drive Time Log sheet with a total of 50 hours of drive time which must include at least 10 hours of night driving.
  • Pass the Behind-The-Wheel Driver’s Test.


If you are 18 years of age or older, the State of Colorado requires you to:

  • Pass the written Instruction Permit exam.
  • Pass the Behind-The-Wheel Driver’s Test.

NOW THAT YOU HAVE YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE:

If you are under the age of 18 the following laws apply to you.

    The following laws are emergency exempt.

  • All occupants of your vehicle must be secured in a safety belt or child restraint seat system.
  • You may not operate a motor vehicle between midnight and 5 a.m.
  • You may not use a cell phone.
  • For the first 6 months of owning your drivers license you may not have any passengers under 21. (Siblings are exempt)
  • Between 6 months and 1 year of holding your drivers license, you may only have 1 passenger under the age of 21. (Siblings are exempt)

All state laws and rules are subject to change without notice. For clarifications to these rules, check out CDOT’s Page on Teen Driving.